top of page


Staff Associates
Karl von Holdt
Professor David Dickinson
Sociology Department
Professor Tracey Humby
School of Law
Professor Malose Langa
Psychology Department
Dr Ben Scully
Sociology Department
Dr Obvious Katsaura
Sociology Department
Dr Nicola Pons-Vignon
School of Economic and
Business Sciences
Dr Melanie Samson
School of Geography, Archaeology
and Environmental Studies
Ms Christine Bischoff
Cities Institute
Honorary Research Associates (International)
Professor Javier Auyero
University of Texas, Austin, USA
Professor Ray Braga
University of São Paulo, Brazil
Dr Andrew Bowman
University of Manchester
Professor Michael Burawoy
University of California, Berkeley
Dr Jennifer Cohen
Whitman College, USA
Dr Peter Cole
Western Illinois University, USA
Dr Jacob Dlamini
Harvard University, Massachusetts
Professor Klaus Doerre
Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany
Professor Rob Lambert
University of Western Australia
Dr Jacob Mati
The University of the South Pacific, Fiji Islands
Dr Joseph Mujere
University of Zimbabwe, and Wits
Africa Residency Fellow at SWOP
Professor Benjamin Rubbers
Universite de Liege, Belguim
Professor Gay Seidman
University of Wisonsin - Madison
Professor Nandini Sundar
Delhi University, India
Professor Robin Turner
Butler University, USA
Dr Leo Zeilig
Editorial Board, Review of African Political Economy
Institute of Commonwealth Studies,
University of London
Honorary Research Associates (National)
Professor Andries Bezuidenhout
University of Pretoria
Dr Rahmat Omar
University of the Western Cape
Dr Sepetla Molapo
University of Pretoria
Dr David Fig
Independent Reseacher
Dr Khayaat Fakier
University of Stellenbosch
Dr Kally Forrest
Independent Researcher
Dr Margot Ruben
Independent Researcher
Dr Ian Macqueen
University of Pretoria
Dr Victor Munnik
Independent Researcher
Ms Samantha Hargreaves
Independent Researcher
Dr Sonwabile Mnwana 
University of Fort Hare
Student Associates
Hannah Dawson PhD Candidate
Oxford University
bottom of page